Red Raiders place second at Big 12 meet

AMES, Iowa – The Texas Tech track & field teams wrapped up the Big 12 meet placing second Saturday evening at the Lied Rec Athletic Center.

“I’m just incredibly proud of how hard this team fought,” said head coach Wes Kittley. “To have 11 individual Big 12 titles and score over 150 points is truly remarkable. I couldn’t be any prouder of this entire team, both men and women.”

Final Standings


1) Texas 136

2) Texas Tech 124

3) Oklahoma State 123

4) Baylor 76.5

5) Oklahoma 73

6) Iowa State 60

7) Kansas State 56

8) Kansas 44

9) TCU 27.5

10) West Virginia 21


1) Texas 171

2) Texas Tech 155

3) Oklahoma 84

4) Iowa State 68

5) Oklahoma State 63

6) Kansas State 61

7) Kansas 51

8) Baylor 48

9) TCU 40

Towards the middle of the day, the titles started to come in for Tech in quick fashion. Rosemary Chukwuma broke her own school record of 7.20 and produced a time of 7.17 to take the 60m final. In the men’s 60m final, Jacolby Shelton defended his title from 2021, producing a time of 6.64. He also went on to claim his first 200m crown, posting a time of 20.80. At the end of the meet, Shelton was given the Male Highest Scorer award. Courtney Lindsey was the other Red Raider to make some noise in the 200m, finishing second (20.84).

Meanwhile in the 60m hurdles, freshman Vashaun Vascianna etched a time of 7.75 to be crowned a champion. Maliek Kendall was right behind him in second (7.79). Demisha Roswell led the female team in the 60m hurdles, coming in third with a time of 8.20.

After recording a DNF in last year’s meet, Gary Haasbroek took home the heptathlon title registering 5,833 points, claiming first in two events – long jump and 60m hurdles. In the triple jump, Jalen Seals dethroned the reigning champion with a leap PR leap of 16.31m, his first title in that event as he won the long jump last season. Another champion was crowned, this time it was Moad Zahafi in the 1000m with a time of 2: 20.96. He is more than two seconds ahead of the runner-up.

Ruta Lasmane rounded out the individual winners as she claimed the triple jump title, producing a mark of 13.85m which was on her third jump. Other notable finishes included Sydney Sapp (1.81m) and Caleb Wilborn (2.20m, PR) placing third in the high jump. Kayli Johnson (16.41m) took second in the shot put, while the team of Aneesa Scott, Knowledge Omovoh, Kiah Dubarry-Gayand Lexye Price claimed second overall in the 4×400 relay.

Leave a Comment